More lightning related fire activity in western Alaska

August 13, 2014 11:40 a.m.

Lightning activity continues to spark fires in Alaska as six new fires were detected in western Alaska on August 12. All of the fires are located in the Alaska Fire Service Galena Zone that covers the western region of Alaska. Of the six fires, five are in limited management option areas and were placed in monitor status. The Allman Lake, Ingruksukruk, Kerulu Creek, Four Corners fires are 2 acres or less while the Kugarak River Fire is 30 acres.

The sixth fire, The Sisters, is 800 acres and located in a full management option area 13 miles southeast of St. Michael. A zone detection surveillance flight crew detected the fire at 1:01 p.m. The fire was observed as 90 percent active and running and backing with 1-3 foot flame lengths. Eight smokejumpers were deployed to the fire at 3 p.m. and a helicopter provided logistical and bucket support. Fire activity increased due to high winds causing growth towards the southwest. Shifting winds changed the direction of the fire to the west northwest. Smokejumpers have prioritized the north flank to protect values at risk.

For additional information about Alaska fires view the AICC Situation Report at the Alaska Interagency Coordination Center (AICC) website.

About afsakfireinfo

The Bureau of Land Management Alaska Fire Service (AFS) located at Fort Wainwright, Alaska, provides wildland fire suppression services for over 240 million acres of Department of the Interior and Native Corporation Lands in Alaska. In addition, AFS has other statewide responsibilities that include: interpretation of fire management policy; oversight of the BLM Alaska Aviation program; fuels management projects; and operating and maintaining advanced communication and computer systems such as the Alaska Lightning Detection System. AFS also maintains a National Incident Support Cache with over $15 million in inventory. The Alaska Fire Service provides wildland fire suppression services for America’s “Last Frontier” on an interagency basis with the State of Alaska Department of Natural Resources, USDA Forest Service, National Park Service, Bureau of Indian Affairs, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, and the U.S. Military in Alaska.

Comments are closed.