State burn permits required starting April 1

Starting April 1, general burn permits are required by state law for opening burning on any lands protected by the Alaska Division of Forestry. That includes most of the road-accessible areas throughout the state from Fairbanks south, as well as Southwest Alaska.
Burn permits are required from April 1 to August 31 and are subject to suspension and closures. Residents must have a valid permit for any fire other than a campfire or approved burn barrel. A general burn permit allows for the burning of one pile of organic debris 4 feet high by 10 feet in diameter or smaller, as well as up to 1 acre of mowed lawn with grass no higher than 4 inches. Burn piles or areas larger than either of those dimensions require an onsite inspection by Division of Forestry staff.
Permits are good for one year and must be renewed annually. To obtain a burn permit or learn more about the requirements for your local area, go to http://forestry.alaska.gov/burn/ or contact your local Forestry office. Burn permits are also available at most local fire departments.
Remember, you are responsible for any fire you start, even if you have a permit. Be sure to follow the safe burning guidelines on the permit. Call your local forestry office or go online at http://forestry.alaska.gov/burn/ to make sure burning is allowed on the day you plan to burn.

About Alaska Division of Forestry

Alaska Division of Forestry website: http://forestry.alaska.gov/ Mission: The Alaska Division of Forestry proudly serves Alaskans through forest management and wildland fire protection. The Wildland Fire and Aviation Program provides safe, cost-effective and efficient fire protection services and related fire and aviation management activities to protect human life and values on State, private and municipal lands. The wildland fire program cooperates with other wildland fire agencies on a statewide, interagency basis.

Comments are closed.